Lauren Bosco | Posted: 7 Apr 2021 | Updated: 9 Jun 2021

McBratney and Dominguez named MPSF Swimmer of the Year; Brooks receives Men's Swim Coach of the Year

main image
Katie McBratney and Josue Dominguez win Swimmer of the Year
Coach Brooks josue dominguez katie mcbratney

Seattle, WA — The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation named Katie McBratney as the 2021 Women's Swimmer of the Year, Josue Dominguez the 2021 Men's Swimmer of the Year and head coach John Brooks as the league's Men's Swim Coach of the Year.

Dominguez and McBratney were the only swimmers from the MPSF to qualify for the 2021 NCAA Championships. Dominguez swam in the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke while McBratney competed in the 100-yard breaststroke.

McBratney broke conference records at the 2021 MPSF Conference Tournament, the only female to do so, in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:00.10) and in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:11.44). Remarkably, McBratney is the first woman from BYU to ever receive the Swimmer of the Year award. Her 200-yard breaststroke swim, which she won by over four seconds, took down a record dating back to 2016. She was also the 2021 MPSF Champion in the 200 IM as the only swimmer to finish under two minutes (1:58.83). At the MPSF Championships, she swam for two Cougar title-winning relays including the 400 free and 800 free.

Dominguez broke an MPSF record and program record at the 2021 MPSF Tournament in San Luis Obispo, California in the 100-yard breaststroke (51.81). At the NCAA’s, Dominguez recorded a time of 52.26 in the 100 breast, his second fastest personal time and was just two spots off from reaching the NCAA Finals in that event. Dominguez finished the season ranked No. 19 in the country in the 100 breast, clocking in with a career-best and MPSF record-setting time of 51.81 at the conference meet. He also swam on the first-place 400 medley relay, 200 medley relay, and 200 free relay and placed second individually in the 200-yard breaststroke (1:56.71). Dominguez serves as BYU’s fifth MPSF Swimmer of the Year award.

Head Coach John Brooks guided the Cougars to their fifth MPSF team title by an overthrow of 135 points. The BYU men set conference records in the 100 breast (Josue Dominguez) and 200 fly (Brad Prolo) and won 10 out of 20 championship events. This is the third MPSF Coach of the Year award for Brooks (2021, 2016, 2015).


Recent Stories

Diego Camacho Salgado prepares to swim for BYU at 2022 meet versus Air Force.
Camacho Salgado represents Mexico at World Aquatics Championships

BYU swimmer Diego Camacho Salgado represented his native home country of Mexico at the World Aquatics Championships…

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…