The Intercollegiate Tennis Association is the governing body over varsity collegiate men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Division I, II, and III levels in addition to NAIA, junior college and community college tennis programs. In addition to providing nationwide rankings for NCAA Division I tennis, the ITA also outlines 12 regions for purposes of NCAA championship event selection.

BYU women's tennis competes in the Mountain Region along with 19 other schools from Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming and the northern half of Arizona. 

Every year the ITA holds a regional tournament, providing student-athletes the opportunity to qualify for the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships for NCAA Division I and the ITA National Small College Championships. These tournaments are held in the fall, while the NCAA also conducts team championships and individual player championships in the spring.

Regional Results
Year Final Team Ranking Team Record Final Singles Ranking Final Doubles Ranking
2016-17 6th 4-2 #10 Ware-Avina --
      #18 Cusick  
2015-16 6th 1-3 #11 Jones --
2014-15 6th 2-3 #11 Ware #3 N. Tran/Ware
2013-14 2nd 4-1 #14 Jones --
2012-13 6th 4-3 #19 D. Tran #6 Sheehan-Dizon/N. Tran
2011-12 4th 3-2 #13 D. Tran #5 Price/Sheehan-Dizon
2010-11 6th 5-3 #11 Price #3 C. Craig/Price
      #13 C. Craig  
2009-10* 4th 4-5 #1 McCall Jones #2 McCall Jones/Price
      #16 Doerr  
2008-09 8th 11-4 #7 McCall Jones #5 McCall Jones/Doerr
      #16 Doerr  
2007-08 5th 8-5 #4 Surkova #5 Miccoli/Surkova
      #8 Doerr  

*First year competing in the Mountain Region

Prior to the 2009-10 season, the Cougars were a part of the Central Region comprising 39 schools from Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Utah. The original eight regions were realigned into 12 new ones after the 2008-09 season.